Stuffed Cabbage Leaves

I thought that I was late (I am often late nowadays on publishing on the blog) for publishing this new stuffed cabbage leaf recipe. I was seeing Spring on the calendar and I thought this recipe was not really getting along with the new season. But that was without knowing that the snow would come back again and made its way to Paris this weekend.

So before we change completely the color palette (even if winter is also great in terms of colors, check my Instagram account if you have some doubts), we leave hearty recipes for lighter recipes, here’s a simple one so easy to prepare but with high-quality ingredients.

I had been thinking for a long time about green cabbage when I was seeing them standing on the shelves of my veggie vendor but I didn’t know what to cook them with. This recipe is quite classic in a way but delicious. For the most vegans of you, you can replace the meat by a veggie burger for example but bear in mind that the principle is to cook this dish for a long time on low heat in order for the veggie and meat juices to mix and soften the cabbage leaves. Without meat, you will have to add for example onions and different spices to add flavors to this traditional dish. The veggie broth will do the trick with the rest of the ingredients.

One important technical detail: you will have to remove the central rib of each cabbage leaf in order to easily prepare each cabbage roll. Those central ribs are not so easy to chew on and digest so you better get read of them.

Do not pick a too small cabbage. Indeed, the leaves on the outside are often too thick to be rolled and folded and the ones close to the cabbage heart are often too small. You can keep the soft central leaves for a veggie soup so you do not throw anything away.

Ingredients

  • a large green cabbage (only keep the central leaves for this recipe / take away the larger part of each leaf central white rib with a knife); Set aside
  • 300g of a pre-made by my butcher fresh stuffing mix (sausage meat, onions and parsley)
  • 1 large yellow onion, peeled and chopped
  • 2 gluten-free bread slices
  • 10 carrots, peeled and diced thinly
  • 1 white wine glass
  • 1 cup or bowl non dairy milk
  • 20 dl veggie broth
  • 1 organic egg yolk
  • some Guérande salt
  • some pepper
  • 1 tbsp organic butter
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • some roast string
  • 1 large handful chopped parsley

Recipe

  1. Bring salted water to a boil
  2. Blanch each cabbage leaf in the boiling water (approx. two to three minutes); Drain and set aside
  3. Soak the bread in the non dairy milk
  4. In a bowl, mix the stuffing, the drained bread, the egg yolk, the chopped parsley and season to taste
  5. Place the first cabbage leaf facing you with the base of the leaf at the bottom. Place about a tbsp of stuffing at the bottom of the leaf (if you put too much, you will not be able to fold the leaf). Fold the sides on the stuffing so you get a sort of cylinder shape then roll the whole leaf like a spring roll. Once the roll is done, secure it with some roast string (like a small gift with a knot in the center); Set aside
  6. In a large steel pan, brown the butter, the olive oil and the onions
  7. Place the cabbage leaves in the pan and add the carrots.
  8. On high heat, brown the cabbage rolls but be sure they do not burn so flip them often, then lower the heat and add the broth as well as the white wine
  9. Leave it to simmer for approx. one hour and check regularly the stuffed leaves by drizzling them with the veggie and meat juices. If you lack juices in the pan, add some more broth (one glass to start with, then another one if needed)
  10. Remove the string before serving
thepineapplechef
No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Feuilles de Chou Farcies

Je pensais être très en retard (je le suis assez souvent en ce moment sur les publications du blog) pour la publication de cette recette de feuilles de choux farcies. Je voyais la date du Printemps arriver et me disais que ce genre de plat n’allait pas forcément être prisé avec les beaux jours. C’était sans compter l’arrivée de la neige à Paris ce weekend et le retour du froid hivernal alors que le Printemps est là officiellement sur le calendrier.

Alors avant de changer complètement de palette de couleurs (même si l’hiver est étonnant en couleurs – voir mon compte Instagram), de recettes qui réchauffent pour des mets plus printaniers, voici cette recette très simple mais réalisée avec des ingrédients de très grande qualité.

Cela faisait longtemps que je lorgnais sur ces beaux choux verts chez mon maraîcher mais je ne savais pas comment les accommoder. Cette recette est somme toute, assez classique mais délicieuse. Pour les plus végétariens d’entre vous, vous pourrez remplacer la viande par un steak végétarien mais gardez bien en tête que l’intérêt de ce plat est de cuire l’ensemble à feu doux pendant de nombreuses minutes pour que le jus des légumes et de la viande se mélangent et confissent les feuilles de choux. Sans viande, il faudra ajouter des oignons caramélisés et peut être plus d’épices pour donner plus de goût à ce plat traditionnel.

Détail technique important:  il vous faudra penser à enlever les nervures des feuilles de chou avant leur cuisson pour que vous puissiez facilement créer les petits ballots dans la ficelle et pour que l’ensemble soit bien digeste.

Il vous faudra également choisir un chou pas trop petit. En effet, les feuilles extérieures sont parfois trop dures pour servir de base aux ballots et celles trop près du cœur, trop petites ! Vous pouvez conserver le cœur du chou d’ailleurs pour une soupe de légumes de façon à ne rien perdre dans l’utilisation du chou.

Ingrédients

  • un gros chou vert, feuilles du ‘milieu’ séparées. Enlevez la nervure centrale avec un couteau, réservez
  • 300g de farce (j’ai pris une farce de tomates farcies chez mon boucher) fraîche
  • 1 oignon jaune épluché et haché finement
  • 2 tranches de pain sans-gluten
  • 1 dizaine de petites carottes, épluchées et taillées en dés
  • 1 verre de vin blanc
  • 1 cup ou bol de lait végétal
  • 20 dl de bouillon de légumes
  • 1 jaune d’œuf bio
  • du sel de Guérande
  • du poivre
  • 1 cuillère à soupe de beurre bio
  • 1 cuillère à soupe d’huile d’olive
  • de la ficelle alimentaire
  • 1 poignée de persil frais haché

Recette:

  1. Faites chauffer une grande casserole d’eau salée
  2.  Blanchissez les feuilles de chou dans l’eau bouillante (environ 2 à 3 minutes) et égouttez-les; réservez
  3. Faites tremper le pain dans le lait végétal
  4. Dans un saladier, mélangez bien la farce, le pain égoutté, le jaune d’oeuf, le persil haché et ajoutez sel et poivre à votre convenance
  5. Placez la première feuille de chou face à vous, base de la feuille en bas et haut de la feuille en haut. Placez un peu de farce (environ une cuillère à soupe, si vous en mettez trop, vous peinerez à rouler la feuille) en bas de la feuille. Pliez ensuite les côtés de façon à obtenir un cylindre tout droit puis roulez l’ensemble comme un nem chinois. Une fois le ballot réalisé, attachez l’ensemble avec de la ficelle comme un papier cadeau; Réservez
  6. Dans une grande cocotte, faites revenir le beurre, l’huile d’olive et les oignons
  7. Placez les ballots de feuilles de choux farcis dans le fond de la cocotte et ajoutez les carottes
  8. Saisissez les ballots à feu vif dans un premier temps en les retournant pour qu’ils ne brûlent pas puis baissez le feu et ajoutez le bouillon de légumes et le vin blanc
  9. Laissez cuire environ une heure à feu doux en vérifiant les ballots et en les arrosant régulièrement. Si vous venez à manquer de liquide dans la cocotte, ajoutez du bouillon (commencez par un verre puis un autre pour ne pas tout noyer).
  10. Retirez la ficelle avant de servir
thepineapplechef
Aucun commentaire

Désolé, les commentaires ne sont pas disponible pour le moment !